I’ll stand by you, I’ll throw with you..

Some condemn Palestinian acts of violence against Israelis, some say “why can’t they just be peaceful?”, never crossing their mind how peaceful they themselves would be with a gun in their face. I’m not saying that all Palestinian are violent nor that those who are, have the right to be so. But I can’t condemn the violent acts of an oppressed group of people. Would you lie down peacefully if someone hit you?

In my eyes, the righteous way is always the non-violent way, but the Palestinian are under so much pressure, they’re bound to explode. Rather than seeing the violent acts of throwing stones, I see the peaceful acts of men, women and children queuing under inhumane circumstances to get to school and work daily. Instead of seeing all suicide bombs, I see Palestinian youth doing all they can to get a university degree and help build peace by helping their community.

Maybe my headline is misleading, I have no plans on throwing stones and I don’t agree with throwing stones, but I realise how hard it must be to remain peaceful under great oppression.

So let’s not condemn, let’s instead contribute with all our peaceful acts and let them spread like rings in the water. Let us celebrate existing non-violence movements, such as the global BDS (Boycott, divestment and sanctions for Palestine) movement by not buying occupation. (http://www.bdsmovement.net/)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

