I have a dream

“I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia, the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.”

When I lose hope and feel weary, I listen or read the words of Martin Luther King Jr., the man who shines through time and space into my heart and life. I don’t say he was the greatest man there was, I don’t claim he was the reason to the black movement in USA, but to me he’s a beacon of light in a dark world with too many sorrows.

This is how great poetry entangles with politics, because to me MLK was a poet as well as a politician (and pastor not to forget). That is what makes me believe that my words are not in vain, although they have not yet seen enough of the world.

Culture is a great way of expressing the problems and sentiments of our time. It’s a great way of engaging people from totally different backgrounds in the same fate, through pictures, art, literature, music, etc. For example when I listen to “Look into my eyes” by Outlandish, I remember the hardships of the Palestines and feel more strongly about it than through reading an informative text about the situation. In the same way Matisyahu helps me hope there is a better future to come “one day”.

So don’t lose hope, listen to what makes you believe and keep in mind the vision of the day when we’ll paint everything in pink..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

